When we say cheese we say next generation

When we say cheese we say next generation

Our story

100 years cheese
100 years Dutch
100 years family

When we say cheese, we mean everything we care about: it is our passion and it motivates us to push the boundaries every day.

Both literally and figuratively. That's the way we have always been. You could say we are typically Dutch - we have an enterprising spirit that is always looking for new opportunities and improvements. Because we come from a small country, efficiency is in our blood. What is more, we say what we think. We do that respectfully, paying attention to the culture of the people we work for. We believe wholeheartedly in what we do; we turn commitment into action.

Read more

Vepo Values Vepo Values

Vepo Values

The Vepo Values are leading in our thinking and doing.

Reliability

Reliability

We comply with agreements and act with integrity.

Continuity

Continuity

We invest in long-term relationships with all our employees, customers and suppliers to ensure the continuation of our company.

Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship

We are ambitious, want to improve, take responsible risks and give our employees responsibility.

Flexibility

Flexibility

We quickly respond to the wishes of our customers and developments in the market. Customer service is our focus.

Sustainability

Sustainability

We are always looking for new sustainability initiatives to reduce the impact on the climate and the environment.

Sustainability

Towards a more sustainable future

As a family company, we aim to ensure the continuity of our business from one generation to the next. We invest in sustainability and quality so that we can ensure good living conditions for our own future and that of our children. That is why we have introduced our sustainability strategy, Vepo Forward, under which we encourage sustainable entrepreneurship at Vepo Cheese.

Sustainability

Quality

Quality is our priority

Our quality policy focuses on health and food safety – that is the core value of our operational management. Our sites meet the stringent quality standards required by the BRC and the IFS.

Certifications

Vepo Cheese history

Beginning family business Vepo Cheese

1920

Founding Kaashandel H.J. van de Poll

Hendrik van de Poll starts a cheese warehouse in Bodegraven. He trades in farm cheeses from the region.

1936

Founding Kaashandel J.E. Verkleij BV

Jan Verkleij starts a cheese warehouse in Oudewater. He also trades in farm cheeses from the region.

1961

2nd generation Verkleij joins family business

Jac Verkleij, the oldest of six children starts working at Kaashandel J.E. Verkleij.

1971

Founding Poll-Food

Kaashandel H.J. van de Poll continues as Poll-Food. The founder's son, Henk van de Poll, starts slicing and packaging cheese in the new company premises at the Beneluxweg in Bodegraven.

1986

Poll-Food cheese into space

1989

Sale Poll-Food

Henk van de Polls sells Poll-Food to the company Offerman Vleeswaren from Aalsmeer.

1990

Founding Vepo Foods

Jac Verkleij and Henk van de Poll set up Vepo Foods in Oudewater. They specialize in grating cheese.

1991

Take-over Poll-Food

Partners Jac Verkleij and Henk van de Poll take over Poll-Food from Offerman.

1998

Stock sale

Shares Poll-Food and Vepo Foods 100% owned by family Verkleij. The third generation is also active in the family business.

2000

Renovation Vepo Cheese

After an intensive renovation, the production location in Oudewater is reopened.

2009

Opening new logistics centre and introduction new name

Poll-Food and Vepo Foods continue under a new name: Vepo Cheese. The new logistics centre is also taken into use. Jac Verkleij resigns from the daily management of Vepo Cheese.

2011

Winner Entrepreneur prize Bodegraven

2013

Share transfer

Jan Verkleij says goodbye to the family business after 25 years. Mark and Marlou buy his shares.

2014

Extension production Bodegraven

Opening new production location and offices Beneluxweg, Bodegraven.

2019

Sustainability

Vepo Cheese invests in solar energy. All locations are equipped with solar panels.

2019

Marlou Cheese Queen of Bodegraven

2020

100 year anniversary

Family business Vepo Cheese is celebrating its 100 year anniversary.

1920

Founding Kaashandel H.J. van de Poll

Hendrik van de Poll starts a cheese warehouse in Bodegraven. He trades in farm cheeses from the region.

1936

Founding Kaashandel J.E. Verkleij BV

Jan Verkleij starts a cheese warehouse in Oudewater. He also trades in farm cheeses from the region.

1961

2nd generation Verkleij joins family business

Jac Verkleij, the oldest of six children starts working at Kaashandel J.E. Verkleij.

1971

Founding Poll-Food

Kaashandel H.J. van de Poll continues as Poll-Food. The founder's son, Henk van de Poll, starts slicing and packaging cheese in the new company premises at the Beneluxweg in Bodegraven.

1986

Poll-Food cheese into space

1989

Sale Poll-Food

Henk van de Polls sells Poll-Food to the company Offerman Vleeswaren from Aalsmeer.

1990

Founding Vepo Foods

Jac Verkleij and Henk van de Poll set up Vepo Foods in Oudewater. They specialize in grating cheese.

1991

Take-over Poll-Food

Partners Jac Verkleij and Henk van de Poll take over Poll-Food from Offerman.

1998

Stock sale

Shares Poll-Food and Vepo Foods 100% owned by family Verkleij. The third generation is also active in the family business.

2000

Renovation Vepo Cheese

After an intensive renovation, the production location in Oudewater is reopened.

2009

Opening new logistics centre and introduction new name

Poll-Food and Vepo Foods continue under a new name: Vepo Cheese. The new logistics centre is also taken into use. Jac Verkleij resigns from the daily management of Vepo Cheese.

2011

Winner Entrepreneur prize Bodegraven

2013

Share transfer

Jan Verkleij says goodbye to the family business after 25 years. Mark and Marlou buy his shares.

2014

Extension production Bodegraven

Opening new production location and offices Beneluxweg, Bodegraven.

2019

Sustainability

Vepo Cheese invests in solar energy. All locations are equipped with solar panels.

2019

Marlou Cheese Queen of Bodegraven

2020

100 year anniversary

Family business Vepo Cheese is celebrating its 100 year anniversary.

Vepo Cheese team

Nice to meet you!

Mark Verkleij
CEO

m.verkleij@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Marlou Bink-Verkleij
Director Marketing and Business Development

m.bink@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Ed Brouwer
Managing Director

e.brouwer@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 267 565

Erno Vink
Sales Manager Northern Europe

e.vink@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 235

Evert Versloot
Sales Manager Southern Europe

e.versloot@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 240

Isabelle Amestoy
Account Manager Industry France

i.amestoy@vepocheese.com
+33 648825169

Andreas Gieschler
Key Account Manager

a.gieschler@vepocheese.com
+49 1711734568

Redmar Baars
Sales Manager

r.baars@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 232

Michael Kerkmans
Customer Service Officer

m.kerkmans@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 238

Manuela Cyrus
Customer Service Officer

m.cyrus@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 236

Monique Langereis
Customer Service Officer

m.langereis@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Sandra van Horzen
Customer Service Officer

s.vanhorzen@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Tim Boere
Customer Service Officer

t.boere@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 267 576

Christian Boere
Coordinator Planning

c.boere@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Kasia Nowak
Supply Chain Officer Planning Bodegraven

k.nowak@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Karol Ruszkowski
Supply Chain Officer

k.ruszkowski@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 267 570

Mirjam Bijman
Supply Chain Officer Planning Oudewater

m.bijman@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)348 566 583

Else Boersen
HR Manager

e.boersen@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Eline Douma
HR Business Partner Projects

e.douma@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200

Charlaine Bouwes
HR Advisor

c.bouwes@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 207

Hans Hoevers
Purchase Manager

h.hoevers@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 227

Ferry Vink
Purchaser

f.vink@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 247

Peter van Beek
Purchase Officer

p.vanbeek@vepocheese.com
+31 (0)172 635 200